Bureau of Building, Grounds and Real Property Management

Calvin R. Sibley, Director

Adrian Massey, Bureau Assistant Director

Mario Smith, Bureau Assistant Director

Kent Adams, Real Property Management Director

Jesse O'Quinn, Bureau Director of Finance

Phone: 601-359-3621
Fax: 601-359-2470


In 1989 through House Bill 659, the Bureau of Building, Grounds and Real Property Management was placed under the Department of Finance and Administration.

The duties and responsibilities of the Bureau of Building, Grounds and Real Property Management are defined within the law found in Mississippi Code 1972, Annotated, Sections 31-11-1 through 31-11-31. The Bureau is not a regulatory agency of the State, but a service arm assisting State Institutions / Agencies and Departments with construction projects.

The primary function of the Bureau is to properly administer funds appropriated to it by the Legislature in accordance with state laws, regulations and established procedures in a business-like manner. The Bureau also has the power to acquire, hold and dispose of real and personal property for the State of Mississippi. [Mississippi Code 1972, Annotated, Section 31-11-3(2)(m)]

Some of the responsibilities administered by the Bureau include contracting with Architects, Engineers, Contractors, Suppliers and others; approving plans, specifications, studies and sites for buildings; expending appropriated funds within the legal intent; serving as liaison with the federal government in various building programs; inspecting incarceration facilities at the Mississippi State Penitentiary (Parchman) and court approved county jails; providing a staff of professionals to plan, manage, inspect and approve services for which the Bureau has contracted; setting policies and procedures to guide those concerned with the orderly and lawful pursuit of providing physical facilities for state government operations; handling furniture and equipment needs funded by the Legislature which involves specifying, bidding, awarding, preparing contract documents, confirming delivery and authorizing payment; reviewing and submitting to the Legislative Budget Office the repair and renovation, capital improvement and preplanning needs for state Institutions, Agencies and Departments; reviewing repair and renovation requests and making allocations based on the priority of requests and inspections of the sites; reviewing State Agencies Professional contracts; accomplishing any special tasks mandated by the Legislature.




Our Staff:
Bureau Director - Calvin R. Sibley
Bureau Assistant Director - Adrian Massey
Bureau Assistant Director - Mario Smith
Director of the Division of Real Property Management - Kent Adams  
Bureau Director II (Finance) - Jesse O'Quinn
Staff Architects (Planning): Project Managers (Planning & Construction):
  Mike Beauchamp
  Anna Boggan
  Rick Davis
  Adrienne Frank
  Akili Kelly
  Joey Orr
Administrative Support:
Shomari Rawls
Courtney Curtis
Deborah White

Ashley Guy

Kimberly Manning

Construction Administrators (Construction)
  Randy Turner (Senior Construction Administrator (Bureau Director II)
Latonia Mallard  Garry Stegall (Construction Project Manager)
Marquita Williamson  
Cathy Bauer - Furniture & Equipment Project Manager (OP / MGMT Analyst Principal)
Patricia G. Weir - Construction Contract Analyst Senior
Cathy Brown -RPM Special Projects Officer (Projects Officer IV, Special)


   Bureau of Building Area Assignments Chart