Explanation of Benefits

Explanation of Benefits



Each month state employees earn two types of leave, personal leave and major medical (sick) leave. Employees, including part-time employees, shall be granted leave as provided in Sections 25-3-91 et. seq., 25-9-125, 33-1-19, and 33-1-21, Mississippi Code of 1972, Annotated, as amended.

Employees begin to earn and accumulate personal and major medical leave on the first working day of each month the employee works or receives paid leave. The personal leave is available for the employee’s use the first day of the month after the leave is earned. The appointing authority cannot increase the amount of personal leave to an employee's credit, and it is unlawful for an appointing authority to grant personal and major medical leave in an amount greater than was earned and accumulated by the

Part-time employees are granted leave only during periods when they are scheduled to work. Part-time and temporary employees earn personal and major medical leave on a pro rata basis.


Personal Leave Accrual Table




1 month to 3 years

12 hours

18 days

37 months to 8 years

14 hours

21 days

97 months to 15 years

16 hours

24 days

Over 15 years

18 hours

27 days


Medical Leave Accrual Table




1 month to 3 years

8 hours

12 days

37 months to 8 years

7 hours

10.5 days

97 months to 15 years

6 hours

9 days

Over 15 years

5 hours

7.5 days


Major medical leave may be used for the illness or injury of an employee or member of the employee's immediate family which is defined as spouse, parent, step-parent, sibling, child, step-child, grandchild, grandparent, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, mother in-law, father-in-law, brother-in-law or sister-in-law. The employee must remember that major medical leave can be used in this manner only after the employee has used one (1) day of accrued personal or compensatory leave. In the event that an employee has no accrued personal or compensatory leave, the first day of leave must be taken as leave without pay. This is a requirement for each absence due to illness.

For each absence due to illness that requires the employee be absent from work for thirty-two (32) consecutive working hours (combined personal, major medical, and compensatory leave), major medical leave can be authorized only when certified in writing by the attending physician.

Source: Mississippi State Employee Handbook

State Holidays

State Holidays


January 1

New Year's Day

The Third Monday of January

Robert E. Lee's Birthday and
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday

The Third Monday of February

Washington's Birthday

The Last Monday of April

Confederate Memorial Day

The Last Monday of May

National Memorial Day and
Jefferson Davis' Birthday

July 4

Independence Day

The First Monday of September

Labor Day

November 11

Armistice or Veteran's Day

A day fixed by proclamation by the Governor of Mississippi as a day of Thanksgiving, which shall be fixed to correspond to the date proclaimed by the President of the United States

Thanksgiving Day

December 25

Christmas Day

Health Insurance Information

Open & Special Enrollment


Health Insurance Information


Open Enrollment Period for Active Employees

Each October during the annual open enrollment period, an employee may choose to elect coverage for himself and/or his eligible dependent(s). The coverage elected during open enrollment takes effect on January 1 of the following calendar year. An employee may choose either Base Coverage or Select Coverage during open enrollment.


Special Enrollment Periods

An employee, dependent of a covered employee, or dependent of a COBRA participant who loses coverage under another health plan will be eligible to enroll for coverage in the Plan if the following apply:


  • The employee declined coverage for himself or his dependents when first eligible because the employee or dependent was covered by other health insurance coverage; or the COBRA participant declined coverage for his dependent when first eligible because the dependent was covered by other health insurance coverage; and
  • The employee or dependent lost other coverage as a result of any of the following qualifying events:
• Divorce;
• The employee or dependent is no longer eligible for coverage (Loss of coverage due to non-payment of premiums does not qualify);
• The employer ceased to contribute toward the cost of the other health plan, and it was terminated;
• The employee’s or dependent’s COBRA continuation has run out.

To enroll for coverage under these circumstances, an Application for Coverage form must be submitted within 60 days of losing coverage under the other plan and appropriate premiums must be paid. As part of the application process, proof of loss of coverage must be provided. If these requirements are met, coverage under the Plan will take effect the first day following the loss of other coverage. An enrollee adding coverage due to a special enrollment event may change coverage types (Base to Select, or Select to Base). There is no deductible or out-of-pocket credit if an enrollee changes coverage types during a calendar year.

Click here for the Mississippi State and School Employee’s Life and Health Insurance Plan Document



Benefits, Qualified Beneficiary, Quailifying Event, Continuation


COBRA Information

What Are COBRA Benefits?
COBRA (short for Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1986) is a federal law that allows for continuation of coverage under an employer's group health plan to covered persons (called "qualified beneficiaries") in the event of a qualifying event.

Who is a Qualified Beneficiary?
A qualified beneficiary is an individual who, on the day before the qualifying event, is covered under the Plan either as an employee, enrollee's dependent spouse, or enrollee's dependent child. A qualified beneficiary is also a child born to the employee, or who is placed for adoption with the employee during a period of COBRA continuation coverage.

What is a Qualifying Event?
A qualifying event is an occurrence which, but for the continuation coverage available under the Plan, would result in the loss of coverage for a qualified beneficiary.  Under COBRA, qualifying events include the loss of coverage that otherwise would result due to:

▪ Termination of employment, for reasons other than gross misconduct
▪ Reduction in hours of employment
▪ Death of the enrollee
▪ Divorce or legal separation
▪ Entitlement to Medicare
▪ Loss of dependent eligibility

If the qualifying event is divorce, legal separation, or ineligibility of a dependent child, the employee or qualified beneficiary must notify the employee’s employer unit no later than 60 days after the qualifying event occurs; otherwise, continuation coverage may not be made available. Any other enrollee or his qualified beneficiary must notify BCBSMS no later than 60 days after the qualifying event occurs; otherwise, continuation coverage may not be made available.


COBRA Continuation Coverage Checklist:

  1. A COBRA election form must be completed and returned to Blue Cross &
    Blue Shield within 60 days of the date coverage ended or the date of the
    notice, whichever is later.
  2. The first premium payment must be made within 45 days from the date of
    election to continue coverage.
  3. The first payment must include all premiums due for the coverage period
    beginning with the COBRA coverage effective date through the current month.


Click here for the full Health Insurance PLAN Document